How to use Microsoft Track Changes

When you receive your work back, you will have two edited copies of your original document that you submitted. One will be labelled ‘track changes’, whilst the other will be labelled ‘clean copy’. Firstly, we will discuss the ‘track changes’ copy.

Track Changes Copy

The 'track changes' copy has visible all the changes that have been made. In Windows, all deleted text will have a line through it, and all inserted text will be underlined. On a Mac, all deleted text will appear in the right-hand margin, and all inserted text will appear highlighted in the main body. Additionally, if there are any comments made on your work, they will appear on the right-hand side of the screen, in the changes column.

Track changes is turned on and off by going to the 'Review' tab at the top of the screen, then by clicking on 'Track Changes' in the Tracking box.

Microsoft Track Changes

In the 'track changes' copy, you can individually accept the changes that we have made. To do this, you go back to the 'Review' tab, and inside the 'Changes' box, you can click on the 'Accept' button; here you can select from a range of options.

Microsoft Track Changes

You can see from the above that you also have the option to 'Reject' changes, this works in exactly the same manner as the 'Accept' button.

Now you can go through your 'track changes' copy and understand what we have done and why we have done it.

Clean Copy

In your 'clean copy', you will have the comments visible. These comments have been put in place to give you advice on your work; therefore it is recommended that you read each one of these and make the appropriate revisions as suggested by the proofreader. To remove these comments, simply go to the same ribbon in Microsoft Word, and click 'delete comments', either one by one, or collectively.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to email: info@proofreadmyessay.co.uk.

Free Sample
Send us your work for a free sample edit.

Free Sample

Have any questions?

Have any questions?

100% Confidential Service
We never share your details or documents with anyone, ever, fact. We value that your work should remain as your own. Read more...
Guaranteed Secure Payment
Guaranteed Secure Payment
We accept all payment methods above
Guaranteed Secure Payment